A brief primer on business meetings

We can talk about sex and we can talk about work, but not in the same conversation

DSC_0135
This is not a place for a work meeting. Honestly. We should not have to explain this to anyone.

I have been reading the stories at Elephant in the Valley and I read a comment on Ask A Manager from someone who was surprised that a woman had been told to smile because the commenter thought that sort of thing was way out of fashion and – dang, y’all. It just doesn’t stop, does it?

The past is never dead. It’s not even past. Look at these stories (from Elephant in the Valley).

seat at the table
Left out are the stories about men talking in the men’s room and getting deals done. But that’s so common that maybe we don’t even think about it as a way we are excluded.

 

Let’s talk about what a proper business meeting looks like, shall we?

A proper business  meeting does not take place at a venue where women are scantily dressed. This includes but is not limited to Hooters and strip clubs.

I am thinking this should not be a difficult concept to grasp but apparently, it is something that has not sunk in, as 22 years after my own Hooters and meetings conversation with my VP, Hooters meetings are still happening.

Here’s how it happened at my old job.

I was working in corporate finance and strategy (do not do this unless you love working until 10 p.m. every night and no they do not pay you enough to make it worth it). One day, in the locker room at lunch, some women from another group were talking about how their boss had held a work meeting during work hours at Hooter’s.

The women were furious and their male boss didn’t understand why.

That afternoon, I told the story to my (male) VP, thinking he, who was only 42, would get it immediately.

His brow furrowed. “But – I like Hooter’s! And their wings are really good!”

“You think it’s OK to have a work meeting there?” I asked.

He shrugged. “Why not?”

I hate resorting to this argument because I shouldn’t have to, but sometimes it’s the only way.

His daughter was seven years old at the time.

“Do you want your daughter to grow up to work at Hooter’s?”

The blood drained from his face.

“Oh,” he said. “Oh. Yes. I see what you mean.”

We should not have to resort to, “But your daughter/sister/mother/wife” arguments. Sheesh. But at least now he understood.

My first job out of college, I was in sales. My male co-workers took customers to strip clubs and expensed it. Nobody questioned it (except my female co-workers and I). Hey, if it makes money, do it, right?

The first time I went to a trade show, I was astonished to see half-dressed women dancing in front of the equipment used to transport scalded, eviscerated poultry corpses across the processing plant floor.

(NB I am not hating on the women who do these jobs. I like sleeping indoors and so do most other people. If someone will give you a lot of money to do this kind of thing, go for it! But men in the business world? SAVE IT FOR YOUR OWN TIME.)

I couldn’t figure out the connection between poultry-processing equipment and semi-nude dancing women. I felt quite overdressed in my suit.

I was walking with a VP. Perhaps this is not the language I should have used, but I was so shocked at what I saw that I blurted out, “Is there a booth where they are giving blow jobs?”

The VP was stunned but honestly, in retrospect, I am more ticked off that to him, half-naked dancing women was a perfectly unremarkable sight.

And to answer the blow job question, no, I don’t think there was such a booth, but one of my company’s salesmen told me that there was a lot of after-hours entertainment that he chose not to provide for his customers because it made him so uncomfortable.

I don’t think anything has changed since then except in some places, it’s harder to see.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A brief primer on business meetings

  1. Years ago I worked for a MAJOR office equipment company – in sales. About 5% of the sales reps were women. One other new female rep and I were assigned to a really good sales team and counted ourselves as very lucky – great manager, good guys, good customers = lots of opportunity to learn the business and make some money. On the first Monday morning, she and I (and the rest of the team, I assume) got a message that the weekly sales meeting would be at noon as the regular place with lunch provided by the boss. When we inquired as to the “regular place” we were given the name of a downtown (this was DC) bar. We arrived together and discovered that it was also a topless bar. Quick discussion and we decided to just go on in and join the group. (Funny, lots of the guys had arrived well before the appointed hour.) We were not particularly amused, but the guys were SO uncomfortable. Apparently having two fully clothed (suits, in those days) women at the table somehow interfered with the fun. We never said a word, but the following week there was a new place announced – tops required. We both sincerely thanked the boss and nothing else was ever said. I still sometimes wonder what on earth made them think that that was ok?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OK, I can think of one place where those can be in the same conversation. I have some friends who work at a couple of the brothels in Nevada.

    Other than that, I’m not thinking of any.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment